34269976 Boarding School Seminar

Guardianship

Under the British law and Irish law (the Children Acts 1980 & 1989), every student under the age of 16 who are receiving full-time education for more than 12 weeks must have a legally appointed guardian. Although not required by law, most boarding schools still require a guardian until students reach the age of 18.

Guardian’s Responsibility

  • Attending school meetings such as parent’s evenings on behalf of parents.
  • As boarding houses close in exeats and half-terms, guardians have the responsibility to provide accommodation during the time, as well as arrange any transport when necessary.
  • Guardians must provide the child with a place to live in case of illness, suspension or expulsion from school.
  • Guardians have the power to make decisions regarding emergency medical treatments and operations if required.
  • Relatives as Guardian

    If you have a relative (for example, the child’s uncle or aunt) living in the UK, they might be able to act on the parents’ behalf and take care of the child during school holidays and exeat weekends. Generally, they require a guardian to be UK citizen over the age of 25, and not an older brother or sister, or a resident in student accommodation of a university or college in the UK.

    Guardianship Company

    If there isn’t a relative living in the UK, parents will have to employ guardianship service. These services are very reliable, as households have to go through a series of inspection before they become legally qualified guardians. These households must be clear of criminal records, drug-abuse problems and Pedophilia. Guardianship companies will make home visits to ensure they have enough room and a comfortable environment. Moreover, it is to ensure that guardianship is not the household’s only source of income.

    Additional Information of Boarding Schools

    22 queries. 2.029 seconds

監護人

18歲以下學生,必須由合法英國居民擔任監護人

英國及愛爾蘭法例規定,所有16歲以下,在英國接受多於12個星期教育的國際學生均必須由一位合法的英國居民作為監護人。不少寄宿學校更要求18歲以下均須擁有一位監護人。

監護人的責任

  • 代替家長出席家長日及其他家長活動
  • 大部份寄宿學校宿舍均於期中假(Half-Term),以及聖誕、復活節等長假期關閉。監護人須在此期間為學生安排到監護人家中暫住,並協助安排來往學校及監護人住址的交通
  • 在學生被停學或意外受傷(但毋需住院)期間提供住宿
  • 假若學生意外受傷,需要立刻施手術或需長期服用指定藥物,監護人將擁有法律權力為學生作即時決定
  • 由親戚擔任監護人

    持有英國護照、年滿廿五歲,並且在英國擁有固定住址便符合作為留學生監護人資格。因此,學生及家長可邀請長居英國的親友擔任監護人。

    監護人公司

    大部份學生在英國均沒有能夠擔任監護人的親友。在此情況,學生亦可由本中心轉介至英國信譽良好的監護人公司幫助物色監護人。英國監護人公司設有一系列嚴謹的審查標準,所推薦的監護人及其家庭成員均沒有案底、吸毒及戀童癖。在招募監護人時,監護人公司會進行家訪,確保監護人的住所能提供足夠房間及舒適環境,並確定他們的主要收入來源並不來自提供監護人服務。

    寄宿學校相關資訊

    22 queries. 1.280 seconds

    34269976